Students Union

The University has a democratically elected Students Union which looks after the students welfare through its various programmes and welfare schemes. The university union comprises of a chairman,general secretary,vice chairman etc. elected in presidential mode of election.Through various activities arranged in the university ; union ensures its presence on various cultural welfare and political activities and scenerio of the university. However, the one year tenure of the university union ,from the date of assuming the office after the election to the subsequent election in the next year ,the union ensures the full fledged political, cultural and welfare activities.

University election

Democratization of University is social need and this was the agenda of college union. On 2016 December 8 the union of SFI got elected unanimously.


Elected candidates came into power at the presence of Vice ChancelorDr.Jayakumar on 2016 December 20. Dr.Rajeev Mohan was selected as staff advisor for union and Mrs.RoshniSwapna was selected as Fine Arts advisor, Mr. Lalmohan as magazine advisor. In the absence of Mr.Lalmohan, Mr. RadhaKrishnan Ilayadath was selected as magazine advisor.

Annual Sports

The annual sports for the year 2016-17 held on 13,14,15 of February at college compound and athletic games on February 16, 17 at Thirur, Rajivegandhi municipal synthetic Track. The meet was inaugurated by VC DR K Jayakumar and sports advisor MrSaidelavi presided over the function. General Captain muhammedFaizaldelivred vote of thanks. The program was a grant success with a great support from the side of teachers and students.

THIRA (Annual Arts Festival)

The annual arts festival for the year 2016-17 was held on 2017 June 7 to 16. Offstage items conducted between 7 to 11 and stage items on 14 and 15. Offstage items were inaugurated by artist Mohan and the logo for the event designed by AkhilPrakashan was also released by VC Dr K Jayakumar. Stage items were inaugurated by director Siddharth Shiva on June 16. Prizez were distributed. AthilaKabeer was selected as “Chithraprathibha”. Aneesh V P was selected as “kalaprathibha”. Athira was selected as best actress. The program was a great success. ONV commemoration was held on 2017 February 13, and kalabavanmani commemoration was held on March 6 at college open stage. Iftar was conducted on 2017 July 22 including Mehandhi fest. Prize distribution for all the winners in arts and sports held on 2017 July 20. Documentary fest was held on 2017 July 21. Documentaries including “March MarchMarch, The un bearable being of lightness were exhibited. We cordially Thanks all those teachers, students, and other respected fellows who was there with us. Union thanks all of you from the deep corridors of hearts.

University union representatives

  • Chairman:SujithP.k  , Phone:940071865
  • Vice Chairman: Ramya A, Marshook  
  • General Secretary: Sabareesh K P, Phone:9947646423
  • Goint Secretary: Saroop CL, Sumesh
  • Magazine Editor: Dinnu George
  • Fine Arts Secretary: Amrutha.C
  • General Captian: Muhammed Faisal

Association secretaries

  • Linguistics: Sanoj
  • Literature study: Gayathri
  • Creative writing: Anil
  • Culture and heritage study: Raghu k Palani
  • History: Amrutha Vijay
  • Mcj: Athira
  • Film studies: Anjali
  • Local development Studies: Premkumar
  • Environmental Studies: Nall TK
  • Sociology: Jayaprakash PK

AVANGARD 2016-17

College union was inaugurated by the famous artist and painter KabithaMugopathyaya.Suni RS, who enacted the lead role in the movie ‘MANHOL’which secured kerala state film award for best film 2016 was chief guest.