Administrative set up

General Council

The General Council is the supreme authority of the University. Honorable Chancellor is the Chairman of the General Council. The MP and MLA of the place are members of the General Council. Besides, all the Academies are represented.

  • Shri Justice (Retd.) P. Sathasivam(  Governor of Kerala, Chancellor)
  • Prof C. Raveendranath (Minister for Education, Pro.Chancellor)
  • Dr. V. Anil Kumar (Vice Chancellor)
  • Mr. E.T Muhammed Basheer (MP)
  • Mr C. Mammuty (MLA)
  • Secretary to Government, Department of Higher Education
  • Principal Secretary, Finance Department
  • Vice Chancellor, Kerala Kalamandalam
  • Secretary to Government, Department of Cultural Affairs
  • Director, State Institute of Languages Kerala, Trivandrum
  • Chairman, Kerala Chalachitra Academy
  • President, Kerala Sahitya Academy
  • Chairperson, Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Academy
  • Director, Malayalam Mission
  • Director, Vasthu Vidhya Gurukulam
  • Chairman, Kerala Folklore Academy
  • Director, Centre for Heritage Studies
  • Chairman, Kerala Lalithakala Academy
  • Dr. M. Sreenathan, Dean, Faculty of Linguistics
  • Dr. K. M. Bharathan, Dean, Faculty of Cultural Heritage Studies & History
  • Dr. T. Anithakumary, Dean, Faculty of Literature
  • Shri. T. P. Kunhikkannan, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Ms. Lijisha. A. T (Representative, Research Students)
  • Mr. Vineesh (Representative, Research Students)
  • Mr. Akhil M. A (Representative, Post Graduate Students)
  • Ms. Bhavana Bagyanath (Representative, Post Graduate Students)

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee exercises the executive powers including general superintendence and control over the activities of the University. The Executive Committee is competent to take administrative and academic decisions subject to the provisions of the Act and Statutes.

  • Dr. V. Anil Kumar (Vice Chancellor, Chairman)
  • Secretary, Higher Education Department
  • Secretary, Finance Department
  • Secretary, Cultural Affairs Department
  • Mr. Akhil M. A (Representative of Students)

Academic Council

The Academic Council has overall control and regulatory powers on academic matters. The Academic Council is responsible for maintaining high standards of research and study.

  • Dr. V. Anil Kumar (Vice Chancellor)
  • Dr. Scaria Zacharia
  • Dr. M.M. Basheer
  • Dr. N. Mukundan
  • Prof. Muhamed Ahamed
  • Prof. George Thomas
  • Shri. K. Kunhikrishnan
  • Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Mallasseri
  • Dr. B. Gopinathan Nair
  • Shri. V.K. Narayanan
  • Dr. Chathanath Achuthanunni
  • Prof. M.K. Sanu
  • Prof. M.R. Chandrasekharan
  • Dr. M. Leelavathi
  • Prof. M.G.S. Narayanan
  • Prof. K.P. Sankaran
  • Dr. M.R. Raghava Warrier
  • Dr. Indukumari
  • Shri. C. F. Thomas
  • Prof. M. R. Prasad
  • Dr. Desamangalam Ramakrishnan
  • Prof. T. P Kunhikkannan
  • Dr. M. Sreenathan
  • Dr. T. Anithakumary
  • Dr. K. M. Bharathan
  • Shri. P. Jayarajan
  • Dr. Jhoni. C. Joseph
  • Prof. Madhu Eravankara 

Research Council

The Research Council is responsible for all policy decisions and guidance on matters relating to the research programmes of the University.

  • Dr. V. Anil Kumar (Vice Chancellor)
  • Dr. M. M. Basheer
  • Dr. Sucheta Nair
  • Dr. M. R. Ragahva Varrier
  • Dr. Deshamangalam Ramakrishnan
  • Dr. M. Sreenathan
  • Dr. K. M. Bharathan
  • Dr. T. Anithakumary

Malayalam University has a Registrar in charge, a Examination controller an Accounts Officer and an Administrative Officer to assist the Vice Chancellor. Besides, there is a Library Adviser and Editorial Consultant